Part 5 – Reflection on Tutor Feedback

For this submission, I posted physical work to my tutor and we had a Skype discussion. Her feedback was positive, on the whole, and she felt that my work was well presented. She encapsulated the discussion in her feedback report.

She commented that the project on memory using blind embossing was very effective at evoking absence, trace and loss and felt that this could be extended into a larger project. She also felt that it had a disconnect with work in the other projects ans assignment. I admit that I hadn’t felt the need to carry a single strand through all the projects and wanted to explore several ideas, especially linked to my parallel project.

It is interesting that she felt that drawing with my left hand had added energy and movement to my sketchbook. I continued with my regular life drawing through my hand operation and recovery, and some of the drawings were undoubtedly better than my dominant hand drawings, in terms of liveliness and economy of mark. I was surprised at what I managed to achieve.

Wrong hand drawing, graphite, A3
Wrong hand drawing, compressed charcoal, A3

For Assignment 5, I rejected my first collaged prints in favour of a series of monotypes of entoptic phenomena, because I thought the first prints, to he assignment brief of collage, were dreadful. I am disappointed that my tutor has discussed the rejected prints and not those I finally selected for the assignment. However, her feedback on my draft Critical Review is most helpful.


One thought on “Part 5 – Reflection on Tutor Feedback

Leave a comment